People of the Toker Lab

Alex Toker, PhD

Alex Toker received a BSc from King's College, University of London, UK in 1987 and a PhD from the National Institute for Medical Research, London, UK in 1991. He conducted his post-doctoral research in the laboratory of Prof. Lewis Cantley, first in the Department of Physiology, Tufts University School of Medicine, then in the Department of Cell Biology, Harvard Medical School and Division of Signal Transduction, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. His first faculty appointment was as Staff Scientist at the Boston Biomedical Research Institute in 1997, where he was promoted to Principal Scientist in 1999. In 2000 he joined the faculty of Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Harvard Medical School as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Pathology. In 2003, he was promoted to Associate Professor and joined the faculty of the HMS PhD program in Biological and Biomedical Sciences. In 2010, he was promoted to Professor of Pathology at HMS. In 2014, he was appointed Chief of the Division of Signal Transduction in the Departments of Pathology and Medicine and Cancer Center at BIDMC. In 2020, he was appointed Associate Director of the Cancer Research Institute at BIDMC.

Other Activities:

  • Editor-in-Chief, JBC
  • Member of Faculty of 1000
  • Ludwig Center at Harvard

Research Fellows and Instructors

Gilbert Salloum, PhD

Gilbert received his PhD from Albert Einstein College of Medicine in the laboratory of Jonathan Backer. His work focuses on identifying targetable vulnerabilities in high grade serous ovarian cancer

Tashbib Khan, PhD

Tash received his PhD from the University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia, in laboratory of John Hooper. His current work focuses on the interplay between glycogen metabolism and oncogene addiction to the PI3K/AKT pathway

Alissandra Hillis

Alissandra Hillis received her BS degree from MIT, MA, and PhD from HMS. Her research focuses on metabolic dependencies in cancer cells. She is a recipient of the Landry Cancer Research Fellowship and is supported by the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program

Adrija Navarro

Adrija Navarro received her BS degree from Princeton University. Her research focuses on dependencies on protein glycosylation mechanisms in human cancers. She is supported by an NIH F31 grant.


Josefina Mendez

Josefina Mendez received her BS degree from Yale University, CT.  Her research focuses on the regulation of chromatin remodeling factors by the PI3K/AKT pathway in breast cancer. Josefina is a recipient of an NSF Graduate Research fellowship and a Landry Cancer Research award.

Research Assistants

Taylor Woodward

Taylor Woodward received her BS degree from the University of Southern Maine. She is a Research Assistant in the Toker Lab

Former Lab Members




Vittoria Cenni

Sebastien Jauliac (lab link)

Lauren Harkins

Alessandra Sirri

Peter Storz (lab link)

Wendy Chaplis

Sokha Nhek (PhD 2009)

Maribeth Wert

Heike Doeppler

Jessica Fry (PhD 2009)

Antonio Mazzocca

Amy Carr

Claudine Cohick (PhD 2011)

Gary Yiu

Heather Gardiner

Jessica Gasser (PhD 2013)

Merav Yoeli-Lerner

Casey Stottrup

Whitney Henry (PhD 2015)

Maria Mancini

Hannah Anthony

Evan Lien (PhD 2016)

Colin White

Kali Ferrell

Renee Geck (PhD 2020)

Aura Kaunisto

Tiffany Tsang

Sam Barritt (PhD 2022)

Alissandra Hillis (PhD 2023)

Emily Erickson (PhD 2021)

Rebecca Chin

Sivan Elloul

Emilie Clement

Kristin Brown

KangKang Yang

Laura Ghisolfi

Amber Chopelas

Grace Perry

Ozlem Senol-Cosar

Francisco Beca

Christian Dibble

Emily Cohen